Support Forum

Archiv:

• New to FPE and fisrt question

Hi,

I'm new to FPE although I have been "playing" with the software a little bit in the past. I purchased a commercial preamplifier with a FPE chassis and like it very much. I intend to build several chassises to match it.

My first question is: I want to thread a switch on the front panel. The switch has a 1/4-40 bushing thread. Am I right to assume that since it will be mounted from the inside on the frontpanel I should use a #4-40 threaded hole placed on the reverse side?

Thanks,

Xavier

ps. PB, if you read this you know what commercial product I'm referring to!

Posted By: Xavier Cortes on Jan 07, 2011 05:13PM Category: Front Panel Designer

Hello Xavier,

Welcome to our forum, I was most pleasantly surprised to see your name pop up on my e-mail this morning.

To mount a threaded 1/4-40 toggle switch, you will need to manually create that hole. To do this, create a threaded hole where you would like to have your power switch (the particular threading isn't important, just pick one to start). We will use Standard units for all measurements for consistency with the part you desire.

When a threading has been selected, check the box that says "Manual Thread Parameters". Though the 1/4-40 thread is very standard for toggle switches, it is impossibly rare for fastening hardware, so we will need to specify it manually.

With the "Manual Thread Parameters" box checked, you can now change the hole diameter back to 1/4". The thread pitch is 1/40, or .025". Those two parameters will provide the threaded hole you need for your switch.

If you need some additional assistance with your project, feel free to e-mail me and I would be happy to help you out. I have received explicit instructions from that "Commercial Vendor" to share with you whatever you need.

Sincerely,

Paul Birkeland

Customer Service

Posted By: Paul Birkeland on Jan 07, 2011 05:30PM